The Multidisciplinary Team

In 1989, a group of concerned professionals and community leaders met to consider a better, more sensitive way to respond to children who had been battered or sexually abused. These individuals envisioned improving collaborative relationships between agencies who investigate child abuse and offer treatment for victims and their families. Out of this commitment and concern, the Cayuga County Child Sexual Abuse Task Force was formed. That Task Force has evolved into the Cayuga County Multidisciplinary Team and continues to work together for the sake of children who have been abused.

These agencies have partnered together to combat an issue that occurs far too often and are working towards protecting children from abuse:

  • New York State Police
  • Auburn Police Department
  • Cayuga County Sheriff’s Department
  • Cayuga County Child Protective Services
  • Cayuga County District Attorney
  • SANE/SAFE nurses
  • Cayuga County Mental Health Center
  • Cayuga County Probation
  • Cayuga/Seneca Community Action Agency
  • Auburn School District
  • Cayuga Counseling Services, Incorporated
  • NYS Division of Parole
  • NYS Child Advocacy Resource and Consultation Center’s
  • Cayuga/Onondaga BOCES
  • Catholic Charities
  • Auburn Memorial Hospital
  • Booker T. Washington Community Center
  • Cayuga Counselor’s Association
  • Cato-Meridian Central School District
  • Union Springs Central School District
  • Moravia Central School District
  • Southern Cayuga Central School District